It was a fantastic night for the Wayfarers at the Somerset Fellowship of Drama “Cinderella Awards” Evening.

The evening celebrates amateur Pantomime throughout Somerset and recognises the efforts of 27 different Societies. The 2016 Awards took place at the Haynes Motor Museum where 260 representatives from 24 of the Societies, both large and small, came together.

There are 47 awards presented throughout the evening, rewarding not just those on stage, but everyone throughout the whole back stage crew and production teams who make these shows happen.

The ultimate accolade is to be presented with the Cinderella Trophy, which this year went to Cloverleaf Productions from Combe St Nicholas for their production of The Snow Queen. However, Wayfarers were the Runners Up for 2016 with Robinson Crusoe and the Pirates, which is a huge achievement for everyone involved.

2016-05-08 Cinderella Awards

During the evening the Wayfarers picked up a number of other awards:

  • Choreographer of the Year – Sheila Driver
  • Best Junior Chorus
  • Best Chorus
  • Best Theatre Stage Management – Garry Stacey and Martin Lock
  • Linkman of the Year – Dan Woodmason

And there were also nominations in the following awards:

  • Comedy Duo – Cameron & Ashleigh
  • Best Theatre Musicians
  • Best Female Singer – Meghan Walls
  • Best Make up – Naomi Boxell
  • Best UV Scene
  • Best Lighting – Chris Sealey
  • Best Animal Act – Kirsty Newman
  • Principal Boy of the Year – Meghan Walls
  • Principal Girl of the Year – Kim Barnard
  • The Eddie Bowker Trophy – Dan Woodmason
  • Best Musical Director – Matt Holmes
  • Best Director – Brian Epps

All in all a wonderful evening for the Wayfarers and success that can be shared by EVERYONE involved in putting on Robinson Crusoe and the Pirates

Congratulations to all.